Apple iPhone 4 (iOS4)

Apple iPhone 4

iOS5 iOS4
If you don’t know your device’s software version, you can check it by selecting Settings > General > About.

How to guides

Restore factory default settings

When you restore the factory default settings, all personal settings are reset. Follow these instructions to restore the factory default settings.
All phone data will be deleted. Data on your SIM isn't deleted.

Step 1 of 11

Find "Reset"

Press Settings.

Step 2 of 11

Find "Reset"

Press General.

Step 3 of 11

Find "Reset"

Press Reset.

Step 4 of 11

Choose option

Choose one of the following options:
Restore settings only, go to 2a.
Restore settings and data, go to 2b.

Step 5 of 11

2a - Restore settings only

Press Reset All Settings.

If you select Reset All Settings, all phone settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments aren't affected.
Step 6 of 11

2a - Restore settings only

Press Reset All Settings.

If you select Reset All Settings, all phone settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments aren't affected.
Step 7 of 11

2a - Restore settings only

Press Reset All Settings.
Your phone is restarted.

If you select Reset All Settings, all phone settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments aren't affected.
Step 8 of 11

2a - Restore settings only

Key in your PIN and press OK.

If you select Reset All Settings, all phone settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments aren't affected.
Step 9 of 11

2b - Restore settings and data

Press Erase All Content and Settings.

If you select Erase All Content and Settings, settings, contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments are deleted.

Please note that it may take several hours to restore the factory default settings in this way.
When you've restored settings and data, you need to reactivate your phone. Click here for more information.
Step 10 of 11

2b - Restore settings and data

Press Erase iPhone.

If you select Erase All Content and Settings, settings, contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments are deleted.

Please note that it may take several hours to restore the factory default settings in this way.
When you've restored settings and data, you need to reactivate your phone. Click here for more information.
Step 11 of 11

2b - Restore settings and data

Press Erase iPhone to confirm.

If you select Erase All Content and Settings, settings, contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments are deleted.

Please note that it may take several hours to restore the factory default settings in this way.
When you've restored settings and data, you need to reactivate your phone. Click here for more information.

1. Find "Reset"

Press Settings.
Press General.
Press Reset.

2. Choose option

Choose one of the following options:
Restore settings only, go to 2a.
Restore settings and data, go to 2b.

3. 2a - Restore settings only

Press Reset All Settings.
If you select Reset All Settings, all phone settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments aren't affected.
Press Reset All Settings.
If you select Reset All Settings, all phone settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments aren't affected.
Press Reset All Settings.
Your phone is restarted.
If you select Reset All Settings, all phone settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments aren't affected.
Key in your PIN and press OK.
If you select Reset All Settings, all phone settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments aren't affected.

4. 2b - Restore settings and data

Press Erase All Content and Settings.
If you select Erase All Content and Settings, settings, contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments are deleted.

Please note that it may take several hours to restore the factory default settings in this way.
When you've restored settings and data, you need to reactivate your phone. Click here for more information.
Press Erase iPhone.
If you select Erase All Content and Settings, settings, contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments are deleted.

Please note that it may take several hours to restore the factory default settings in this way.
When you've restored settings and data, you need to reactivate your phone. Click here for more information.
Press Erase iPhone to confirm.
If you select Erase All Content and Settings, settings, contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments are deleted.

Please note that it may take several hours to restore the factory default settings in this way.
When you've restored settings and data, you need to reactivate your phone. Click here for more information.

Would you like

Information for your {0}