Apple iPad Air

Apple iPad Air

How to guides

Restore factory default settings

If your tablet gets slow or doesn't work as it usually does, it may help to restore the factory default settings. All settings and configurations you've made on your tablet are deleted.

Step 1 of 13

Find "Reset"

Press Settings.

Step 2 of 13

Find "Reset"

Press General.

Step 3 of 13

Find "Reset"

Press Reset.

Step 4 of 13

Select option

Select one of the following options:

Step 5 of 13

Select option

Restore settings only, go to 2a.

Step 6 of 13

Select option

Restore settings and data, go to 2b.

Step 7 of 13

2a - Restore settings only

Press Reset All Settings.

If you select Reset All Settings, all tablet settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments aren't affected.
Step 8 of 13

2a - Restore settings only

Press Reset.

If you select Reset All Settings, all tablet settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments aren't affected.
Step 9 of 13

2a - Restore settings only

Press Reset to confirm.

If you select Reset All Settings, all tablet settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments aren't affected.
Step 10 of 13

2a - Restore settings only

Your tablet is restarted.

If you select Reset All Settings, all tablet settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments aren't affected.
Step 11 of 13

2b - Restore settings and data

Press Erase All Content and Settings.

If you select Erase All Content and Settings, settings, contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments are deleted.
When you've restored settings and data, you need to reactivate your tablet.
Step 12 of 13

2b - Restore settings and data

Press Erase.

If you select Erase All Content and Settings, settings, contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments are deleted.
When you've restored settings and data, you need to reactivate your tablet.
Step 13 of 13

2b - Restore settings and data

Press Erase to confirm.

If you select Erase All Content and Settings, settings, contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments are deleted.
When you've restored settings and data, you need to reactivate your tablet.

1. Find "Reset"

Press Settings.
Press General.
Press Reset.

2. Select option

Select one of the following options:
Restore settings only, go to 2a.
Restore settings and data, go to 2b.

3. 2a - Restore settings only

Press Reset All Settings.
If you select Reset All Settings, all tablet settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments aren't affected.
Press Reset.
If you select Reset All Settings, all tablet settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments aren't affected.
Press Reset to confirm.
If you select Reset All Settings, all tablet settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments aren't affected.
Your tablet is restarted.
If you select Reset All Settings, all tablet settings are restored but contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments aren't affected.

4. 2b - Restore settings and data

Press Erase All Content and Settings.
If you select Erase All Content and Settings, settings, contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments are deleted.
When you've restored settings and data, you need to reactivate your tablet.
Press Erase.
If you select Erase All Content and Settings, settings, contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments are deleted.
When you've restored settings and data, you need to reactivate your tablet.
Press Erase to confirm.
If you select Erase All Content and Settings, settings, contacts, audio files, video clips and appointments are deleted.
When you've restored settings and data, you need to reactivate your tablet.

Would you like

Information for your {0}